Step Up It’s Now Or Never

I was coaxed into being on my department StepUp for World Hunger team through ShapeUp so from June 23 to Sept 14 I need to get off my ass and exercise.  There’s no way my broken knees will handle 8,000 steps a day, but I’m going to try and do 5,000.  If after one day at 5,000 my knees don’t want to kill me the next morning I’ll shoot for more otherwise I’ll adjust and shoot for less.  The truly sad thing is I work my provided pedometer on a test run one day when I didn’t need to leave my house for work or any errands and I did a whopping 2,579 steps, so sad and pathetic.

In case you were wondering what ShapeUp is, well “it’s not-for-profit organization committed to raising awareness of obesity as a health issue and to providing responsible information on healthy weight management.”  So basically the company I work for doesn’t want obese employees, kidding I have no idea if they want us or not.  😉

If we’re friends and you want to walk, with me let me know, but note I have broken knees so it might just be a leisurely stroll. I Can Do This, right?

I’m sure you already know I love lists so I quickly threw together one of some parks that have potential for good walking, so I don’t use the excuse of being tired of the same scenery, No Excused Allowed:

Park Address
Alki Beach Park 1702 Alki Ave SW
Camp Long 5200 35th Ave SW
Carkeek Park 950 NW Carkeek Park Rd
Charles Richey Sr Viewpoint Beach Dr SW & 63rd Ave SW
Cheasty GS: Cheasty Blvd Cheasty Blvd S & S Della St
Discovery Park 3801 Discovery Park Blvd
Emma Schmitz Memorial Overlook 4503 Beach Dr SW
Fauntleroy Park 3951 SW Barton St
Gene Coulon Memorial Beach Park 1201 Lake Washington Blvd N
Genesee Park and Playfield 4316 S Genesee St
Golden Gardens Park 8498 Seaview Pl NW
Green Lake Park 7201 E Greenlake Dr N
Hamilton Viewpoint Park 1531 California Way SW
Herring’s House Park (Tualtwx) W Marginal Way SW & SW Alaska St
Hiawatha Playfield 2700 California Ave SW
Interlaken Park 2451 Delmar Dr E
Jefferson Park 3801 Beacon Ave S
Kubota Garden 9817 55th Ave S
Lake Washington Boulevard Washington Park to Seward Park
Lakeridge Park Rainier Ave S and 68th St to Cornell
Lincoln Park 8011 Fauntleroy Way SW
Longfellow Creek GS: North Delridge Way SW & SW Graham St
Madrona Park 853 Lake Washington Blvd
Magnolia Tidelands Park W Ruffner to Elliott Bay Marina
Me-Kwa-Mooks Park 4503 Beach Dr SW
Montlake Playfield 1618 E Calhoun St
Pigeon Point Park SW Genesee St & 20th Ave SW
Puget Park S Dawson St & 19th Ave S
Queen Anne Boulevard Encircles Queen Anne Hill
Riverview Playfield 7226 12th Ave SW
Schmitz Preserve Park 5551 SW Admiral Way
Seward Park 5895 Lake Washington Blvd S
Volunteer Park 1247 15th Ave E
Warren G. Magnuson Park 7400 Sand Point Way NE
Washington Park and Arboretum 2300 Arboretum Dr E
West Duwamish GS: Puget Park W Marginal Way SW & Highland Park Way SW
Westcrest Park 9000 8th Ave SW
Woodland Park 1000 N 50th St

 

Leave a Reply

