How’s about cooking somethin’ up with me?

Instead of wasting money and going out to eat 6 times a week I’ve started cooking at home more, looking for recipes that would make good lunch leftovers as well as a few attempts at brunch at home.  Besides cooking some old standby’s and favorites I’ve been trying new recipes right and left, while spending way too much time on Pinterest, my boards are a little crazy.

Here are some of the tastier and favorites that I’ve tried so far:

mobile 011

Simple Sesame Noodles

Simple Sesame Noodles from The Pioneer Woman – I added cilantro along with the green onions and it was delicious; I will make the sauce again to put on other things because the sauce it what made the dish.

mobile 004

Quick ramen bowl

Quick ramen bowl from Budget Bytes – I’ve been joking that I’ve put myself on a ramen every night kind of budget, but I was only half joking, if I was going to survive I needed to upgrade my ramen a little.  It was very delicious; better than when I attempt to make fancy top ramen myself, I did use chicken stock instead of water so it was extra flavorful.  I’ve made think at least 3 maybe 4 more times since the first time.

Good Old Fashioned Pancakes

Good Old Fashioned Pancakes

Good Old Fashioned Pancakes from All Recipes – It was Pancake Day and I was determined to celebrate with pancakes so I made these.  I added dark chocolate chips and they were delightful, will defiantly make pancakes again; they were also great the next day reheated in the toaster oven.

Eggs Baked in Avocado

Eggs Baked in Avocado

Eggs Baked in Avocado from Fit Sugar – Since I brunch alarm clock moved to Bismarck North Dakota I decided to attempt brunch at home.  For this one I used green onions instead of chives and would definitely make again it was a super easy brunch dish for one, one note is to cook it closer to 15 minutes for a runnier egg.  I ate it with a side salad and it a wonderful brunch.

Salted Caramel Mug Cake

Salted Caramel Mug Cake

Salted Caramel Mug Cake from Babble – I was craving something warm and chocolaty and searched Pinterest until I found this recipe.  I did use old caramel’s and added a pinch of sea salt, even if you don’t think it’s cooked all the through is it the first one I didn’t think it was fully cooked so added another 20 additional seconds which over cooked it, the second attempt I cooked for its stated time and it was chocolaty and warm would made a great treat.

Chicken Thighs with Cilantro Sauce & Pecorino and Pepper Polenta

Chicken Thighs with Cilantro Sauce & Pecorino and Pepper Polenta

Chicken Thighs with Cilantro Sauce from Cooking Light – I saw this on the cover of the March Cooking Light and added it to the top of my must try recipes, it took a while but I finally tried it.  This was wonderful; the cilantro sauce is something that could go on anything and combined with the polenta (see below) I made it was amazing.  This is the recipe I’d tell everyone to make.

Pecorino and Pepper Polenta from Martha Stewart – For some reason I thought it would go good with the Chicken Thighs with Cilantro Sauce (above) which is why I made it.  By itself it was tasty but topped with the chicken thighs with cilantro sauce it was a party in my mouth and it made great leftovers.  This will become a monthly dish I make for sure.

Chicken & Lime Soup

Chicken & Lime Soup

Chicken & Lime Soup from Budget Bytes – I was looking to make some soup and saw this on Budget Bytes and decided to give it a try.  I did skip the celery because celery is evil and topped it off with green onion and homemade tortilla strips, it was exactly what I was looking for tangy, tasty and worth making again, plus the leftover were even better.

Mongolian Shrimp

Mongolian Shrimp

Mongolian Shrimp Recipe from Blog Chef – The one thing I always want to go for/order when I don’t want to cook is pretty much anything Asian.  I had some shrimp and searched for an Asian-y shrimp dish where I had all the ingredients on hand and this one fit the bill.  It was super easy to make and wonderful would definitely make again.

Jalapeno-cheddar eggs Benedict with cilantro-lime hollandaise

Jalapeno-cheddar eggs Benedict with cilantro-lime hollandaise

Jalapeno-cheddar eggs Benedict with cilantro-lime hollandaise from Whole Home News – This was my first attempt at eggs Benedict, in other words first attempt at poaching an egg and I must say I didn’t do too bad, actually I did pretty awesome.  If you haven’t figured it out yet I pretty much love anything with cilantro, lime and jalapeno so I know I’d love this.  I did cheat and used Pillsbury biscuits because I’m not much of a baker plus I have zero counter space to roll out or knead dough for the biscuits.  Since I cheated on the biscuits and I wanted the jalapeno flavor I added some to the hollandaise and holy cow it was the BEST.IDEA.EVER. to do that.  I added some sliced ham and paired it with a side of asparagus and it was a full meal deal.  I ended up putting some hollandaise on the asparagus which was amazing.  Everything I made of this recipe was wonderful and can’t wait for leftovers tomorrow.

 

What have you been cooking lately that’s I should try?

Leave a Reply

