Say hey, good lookin’ – what ya got cookin’?

Since I put myself on a ‘budget’ I’ve been forced to cook more and eat out less and I’ve had more success with new recipes this time than I have in the past and I’ve saved money…Go Me!

Some of my favorites have been:

Shrimp Satay: I forgot how much I like turmeric and this recipe thankfully reminded me.  I didn’t have any coconut cream so I just used some half-n-half.  I didn’t bother with the Thai peanut sauce just ate the shrimp with some whole wheat pasta.  It was rather tasty, a super simple yet very flavorful recipe to try, I highly recommend it.

Mac And Beer Cheese Soup: I didn’t change anything about this soup and it was delicious, warm and comforting like beer and mac and cheese should be.  When I reheated it I did it in a small saucepan on the stove and whisked in a little chicken stock each time and the leftovers were perfect.

Smashed Potatoes:  I wanted a simple side one night and this was my pick and a good pick it was.  I loved the crispiness on the outside and the softness on the inside of the potatoes.  I excluded the parsley because I’ve never been a fan of it and trust me it wasn’t missed.  A new fun recipe to change the way you make potatoes.

Perfect Pan-Roasted Chicken Thighs:  The easiest way to make perfect chicken thighs.  The skin was super crispy and the chicken super moist.  I will definitely be making more chicken thighs like this in my near future.

Tom Yum Gai: I cheated with the lemongrass and used the stuff from the tube and trust me it worked just fine and I used ginger instead of galangal.  I was sad this only made two servings after it was gone I still wanted more.  A super simple yet packed with flavor soup, if you like Tom Yum from your favorite Thai place you’ll love this.

Pea and Pancetta Soup: A different twist on split pea and ham soup. Holy cow is this a fantastic soup.  I bought the mint but totally forgot to you use it and it wasn’t missed, the soup along is silky and full of flavor.  It took forever to blend the soup and reach my desired consistency but it was totally worth it.  If you like pea soups try this one.

Pumpkin Black Bean Soup:  This is fall in a soup.  When I read the recipe I was intrigued, the spices seemed more sweet than savory but I gave it a try anyway and so glad I did.  It was delicious.  The only thing I might do different and use my immersion blender once it’s cooked to make it a bit creamier consistency I failed at chopping the onion into even pieces.  If you are seeking a soup for Thanksgiving or maybe just a new fall soup give this one a try.

Dragon Noodles:  I’ve mentioned this one before but I seem to make it a few times a month when I want Asian for dinner but won’t allow myself to go out I make these and add some protein and extra veggies to make it a full meal deal.

A few new recipes I plan on trying in the upcoming weeks:
Corn & Cheddar Pudding:  Only because I have two bags of frozen corn in my freezer I don’t know what to do with and it also sounds kind of tasty.
Mixed mushroom spaghetti: Because I love mushrooms, it will be part of my meatless Monday menu.  Though I plan on using fresh thyme instead of dried tarragon because I think thyme goes better with mushrooms.
Pork Bulgogi:  Because after having Korean BBQ a while back I’ve been craving it so I figured I’ve be brave and give it a try.
Chicken Khao Soi: Because it reminds me of Seven Elements Soup from Wild Ginger which I love and miss from working downtown.  Plus it has turmeric in it.  Fingers crossed that it tastes as good as I imagine it to taste.

Leave a Reply

